Georgian abazi Print E-mail
Written by Webmaster   
Tuesday, 11 December 2007 18:19
The abazi was the currency of Georgia until 1833. It was subdivided into 200 dinar. Other denominations were the puli ("copper") of 5 dinar and the bisti of 20 dinar.

After the absorption of Georgia into the Russian Empire, the currency was not immediately replaced by the ruble. Instead, a final issue of coins was made between 1804 and 1833 in denominations of 5, 10 and 20 dinar in copper and 100, 200 and 400 dinar in silver. These were related to the Russian currency at a rate of 10 dinar to the kopeck.

The Russian ruble was introduced in 1833 at a rate of 5 abazi = 1 ruble. However, the Georgian coins continued to circulate into the 1860s.

For the current Georgian currency, see Georgian lari.
Last Updated on Tuesday, 11 December 2007 18:25